Personal tools


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is an association of twenty-one leading research-intensive universities that share the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research. LERU is committed to:

  • education through an awareness of the frontiers of human understanding;
  • the creation of new knowledge through basic research, which is the ultimate source of innovation in society;
  • the promotion of research across a broad front, which creates a unique capacity to re-configure activities in response to new opportunities and problems.

The purpose of the League is to advocate these values, to influence policy in Europe and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience. LERU regularly publishes a variety of papers and reports which make high-level policy statements, provide in-depth analyses and make concrete recommendations for policymakers, universities, researchers and other stakeholders.

The LERU universities are:

Universiteit van Amsterdam / Universitat de Barcelona / University of Cambridge / University of Edinburgh / Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg / Université de Genève / Universität Heidelberg / Helsingin yliopisto (University of Helsinki) / Universiteit Leiden / KU Leuven / Imperial College London / University College London / Lunds universitet / Università degli Studi di Milano / Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München / University of Oxford / Université Pierre et Marie Curie / Université Paris-Sud 11 / Université de Strasbourg / Universiteit Utrecht / Universität Zürich

More information about LERU and his activities on the LERU website.

The League of European Research Universities (LERU)